A very busy staycation

It feels like it was just yesterday I was announcing and preparing for my transition from being gainfully employed to becoming a stay-at-home mom, but apparently it’s been over 60 days since I’ve written that post. That cannot possibly be true, can it?!

The last couple of months of work nearly killed me. Chris had already started his new duties as VP at his company, working basically 15 hours days 6 days per week. Tell you what, my heart goes out to all the working single moms out there, because I was playing single working mom for a while there and it is a raw deal. I was happy to do it (knowing it was temporary!) to support Chris’ new opportunity and I’m so proud of him for stepping up into a leadership role, but cripes. That was tough. I was also feeling extra stressed at work preparing my team and project to function without me, and feeling guilty for letting them down. Ugh. So overwhelming.

Let’s just say January was an extra tough month for everyone. In the worse coincidence of all times, my in-laws were visiting us during that whole month. Poor them got to see us in the worse of times. We loved seeing them, but I don’t think we were very good company! We were so exhausted.

Anyway, my final day at work finally came in mid-February and it was bittersweet. I was excited to begin my new adventure, but very sad to be leaving a team of people that I love. After all, I’ve spent more waken hours with them than my husband for most of the last decade! Isn’t that crazy?

I paid myself the luxury of keeping the kids in full-time care until March so I could have two glorious weeks of staycation at home all by myself 8 hours a day! I had planned a very long to-do list of things I always want to do but never have time for, like cleaning the fridge or decluttering junk drawers. I had assumed I’d blow through that list in no time and find myself with so much free time to write and attack new creative projects.

I did not.

I did a few fun outings – shopping around downtown, shopping outside of town, a day in LA with my mom… But really, I spent most of my staycation working through my giant to-do list which, as it turns out, may take me the better part of the next year to complete. Seriously, I don’t know what I was thinking with that list.

Nevertheless, I got a lot (A LOT!!!!) done around the house. Cleaning. Decluttering. Organizing. So much cleaning and decluttering and organizing. So, so, so much.

I also got rid of the piano in the kitchen to make room for a craft area for the kids. I bought the piano used (thankfully for not much money!) when we bought the house because I wanted the kids to be exposed to music, but it turns out we have so much more instruments that take so much less room! I really wanted to move a lot of the craft supplies from the garage to the kitchen so the kids wouldn’t always be running off in the garage all the time (the one area not childproofed!) to get themselves activities. Especially now that we’ll all be at home much more, I really wanted to streamline that process.

Anywho. That’s all to say I spent entirely too much of the last two weeks cleaning and entirely too much of my very last paycheck on organizing trays and storage bins. But I feel a lot more ready now to start our new routine tomorrow.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

