On dogs, sleep, and women in STEM fields

Gabby announced in the car on the way home, “I want a dog. I want to bring Raven to another house and then we won’t have a cat anymore and we can have a dog instead.”

WOW. Poor Raven! Gabby would just as soon throw her out the door and replace her! In Gabby’s defense, Chris and I do talk sometimes about trying to have a dog again when the girls are older and we don’t have a cat anymore. (Note: a reasonably sized dog, ah-hem.)

Also in Gabby’s defense, it is really sad that the cat just runs away from her all the time. She lets Gabby pet her sometimes, but not that often and not that long. Gabby even said, “I don’t like the cat. Well, I like the cat but she always runs away from me. I don’t like it when she runs away.” So sad.

Aside from that, Gabby survived a cold, Callie survived a cold, and now Chris and my mom have it. I don’t know how it’s possible I’m still healthy! Especially since Callie’s been waking up more at night with her lingering congestion and the new bed situation.

Talking of which, man, I really miss her old newborn cradle bed and how well she slept in it! I miss her sleeping straight from 7 pm to 5 am. I got so spoiled! She’s still not doing too bad though, she usually wakes up twice since we moved her to the crib. She goes to bed at 7, wakes up at around 1 am and 5 am, then she’s up for the day whenever Gabby wakes up, which is around 6:30-6:45 these days… Thank you time change! There was a few nights when I had to get up every couple of hours when Callie was sick, those are hard days at work the next day!

Of course, I’m also being stupid and going to bed late. There’s just so much stuff I want to do, other than work and sleep! I’ve been catching up on editing and writing for GeekMom. Then there’s working out on my treadmill in the garage. And then there’s this organization/website I follow that recently put out a call for writers who want to write a chapter for their anthology book about important women in STEM. I carefully picked one of my personal favorites, mathematician Sophie Germain, and wrote up a proposal to write a chapter about her. In the next newsletter, there was an announcement that none other than Simon Singh (author of two very popular and very readable nonfiction novels about encryption and cryptography) would be contributing a chapter for the book… A chapter about Sophie Germain. Darn it, I got scooped by Simon Singh!! So the proposal I had submitted was as good as gone since they certainly wouldn’t want two chapters about the same woman. Bummer. I wasn’t sure who else to pick that wasn’t overdone or had too little reference material to write a whole chapter about them. I finally settle on Hedy Lamarr, an actress in the 1940s who invented frequency-hopping for more secure radio-controlled torpedoes, a idea that later became the basis for our modern wireless communications. I really hope it gets accepted, although that would be a lot of work for me. Oh well, sleep is for the weak, amiright?

Leave a Reply

