Then and now

I love that I’ve had this blog for so long and have all of Gabby’s childhood written up. I was curious to see how Callie compared, and honestly I can’t remember much of Gabby’s early days. So I read the blog posts from way back then.

Callie is 10 week old now. Turns out that compared to Gabby, Callie is a huge slacker! By now, Gabby could grab a toy she had her eye on, and had flipped from her stomach to her back!

Actually I did put Callie on her stomach a few days ago and turned my back for a second to grab my phone to take pictures. When I turned back around, she was on her back! I’m not convinced she did it on purpose, but for all I know neither did Gabby so maybe Callie not so far behind.

It’s so funny how much different a babyhood Gabby and Callie are getting. With Gabby, I was all about staying home. I was convinced it was what was best for her. I didn’t want her to get sick, and I didn’t want to bother anyone with a crying baby. We didn’t go out, we didn’t go to restaurants, I didn’t really feel comfortable nursing her in public, etc. I remember the days at home feeling so long, and looking so much forward to Chris coming home at the end of the day because I was going out of my mind!

Oh my gosh. It blows my mind how different things are this time! Sure, I stayed home for maybe 2 or 3 weeks with Callie, mostly because I didn’t feel like getting out of my pjs and putting real clothes on, but then I resumed a normal life! Gabby still needed to go out and have fun and I didn’t want to miss out on all of that. Callie’s been dragged all over town! I’ve even piled on quite a few activities for myself during the week. I guess I could admit I don’t spend nearly as much time focused on Callie’s development. I don’t ignore her or anything! I talk to her when she’s awake, I put her down for tummy time, etc. But I don’t spend hours and hours trying to push her to reach her milestones early. Most of the time, she’s content going with the flow and I plan to enjoy that fact! I feel like a much happier, calmer mom for it. And I think Callie’s a much calmer baby as a result. That’s the life of a second child, I guess!

One thought on “Then and now

Leave a Reply

