She’s here!

Let’s see, where did we drop off last time?! The doctor came to break my water at 2:30. We gave that a couple of hours to work its magic. It did make my existent contractions more regular and painful, but it was still nowhere near frequent enough so they started me on the lowest possible dose of pitocin around 4pm.

They asked me what my plans were for pain, epidural or not. With Gabby I had planned to go natural as long as possible and get the epidural when I felt I couldn’t handle it anymore, which happened around 7 cm. I loved the epidural during labor, but hated that I couldn’t walk around for such a long time afterward. So my plans were once again to go natural as long as possible and see how it went.

With the tiniest nudge of pitocin, my contractions were getting really painful and frequent, but I still held on. They checked me at 6 pm and I was at 6 cm. I was kind of disappointed cause I figured we’d still have a long time ahead of us, but the nurse said I’d probably deliver within the hour! She was right, I went from 6 to 8 in the next hour, and not five minutes later I was begging to push. Sure enough, I was at 10 cm already. I pushed for about 20 minutes and she was out! I don’t think I ever screamed and grunted so much in my life. For the record, I don’t really recommend birth without epidural! Ouch. On the plus side, I think the pain helped push her out in 20 minutes versus the 2.5 hours of pushing it took with Gabby! Pain can be an excellent motivator!

Anyway, then I had our baby girl in my arms and she was perfect, even nameless 🙂

She was born at 7:23 pm, weighing 7 lbs 11 oz, and measuring 19.5 inches.

20131111-022130.jpg

20131111-022152.jpg

20131111-022203.jpg

20131111-022212.jpg

One thought on “She’s here!

Leave a Reply

