36 weeks

I will be 36 weeks tomorrow. Babies are considered full term at 37 weeks, that’s only one week away! My plan is to continue my prison sentence – uh, bed rest – until 37 weeks, at which point I will switch drastically from “let’s keep this baby in” mode to “let’s get this baby out!” mode. Long walks, shopping, keeping the house clean, organizing the nursery, chasing after Gabby… I will do it all! Or, well, as much as I can reasonably do being the size of a manatee and not having had any physical exercise in 4 weeks. At this point, my heart thinks getting off the couch is cardio!

Without being prompted, my doctor said the same thing: “one more week and you don’t really have to be careful anymore!” It’s not like I needed the doctor to tell me it’s safe to resume normal activity once I’m full term since I’m healthy and the baby is too, but it’s still nice to get that stamp of approval.

I’m looking forward to that magical 37 weeks on October 27th so much! The only time I’ve been out of the house in the past couple of weeks is only to go to my weekly doctor appointments. Basically I’ve only been in a car 5 times since October started. It’s kind of crazy when I think about it.

The only scary part is, my doctor confirmed what a nurse told me in the hospital. They expect that once real labor starts, it will happen very quickly since I basically already got half my labor done at 33 weeks. My doctor said she will not induce labor until at least 39 weeks, but that it may be something to consider after that to make sure I’m already in the hospital when labor starts. Personally I don’t think it needs to come to that extreme – it’s not like we live the boondocks one hour away from the closest hospital – but it’s a little scary she’d even feel the need to suggest it. However, I got the sense it was more of a “we can induce you if it makes you feel safer” suggestion rather than an actual medical necessity.

In any case, I’ll be amazed if I make it to 39 weeks. It seems so unbelievable considering what we’ve been through this month. But anything’s possible! For all we know, I could make it even past my due date!! Only time will tell…

One thought on “36 weeks

Leave a Reply

