Something’s definitively going on

I’ve been complaining that the baby’s head is really low for 3 weeks and everyone’s been telling me pelvic pressure is normal in the third trimester. I’ve been having Braxton Hicks contractions pretty much this entire pregnancy, but when they started kicking up this afternoon I figured it was the perfect excuse to go to the hospital to get checked out.

I honestly thought the contractions would stop as I got there, just to make me look stupid. But I didn’t care because at least they could do a few other test to rule out preterm labor and then I could stop worrying about my gut feeling that the baby was going to fall out. Someone would tell me I was overreacting and that everything was fine. Surely!

So I got to the hospital, cracking jokes about “oh it’s probably nothing” and “I’m sure I’m going crazy”… Then the nurse started doing some checking of things and running some tests and she said exactly what I didn’t want to hear: “It’s a good thing you came in cause something’s definitively going on.” Crap.

She said that first of all, the baby’s head should not be that low so early on. Ugh yeah, that’s what I’ve been saying! Then she said I’m like 2cm dilated. Fantastic.

The good news is that the baby is as happy as a clam. Good heartbeat, no signs of distress whatsoever.

The bad news is what happens to me in the next 7 weeks! They gave me IV fluids and a shot of something to stop contractions. If that works, they’ll send me home tomorrow morning for strict bed rest until the baby’s born. If the contractions keep going, I’ll be on bed rest at the hospital. At that point they’ll try more aggressive medicine to stop labor and buy the baby as much time as possible. At 33 weeks, she wouldn’t do too terrible, but still. Any additional time is good.

They also gave me steroid shots to accelerate the baby’s lung development. The lungs are the last organ to develop. Before 32 weeks they would most certainly be underdeveloped and the baby would not be able to breathe on her own. After 34 weeks, the lungs would probably be fine. I’m at 33 weeks and 1 day, so she’d might probably be ok on her own (I know she’s been exercising them with plenty of hiccups lately!!) but the steroid shots help speed things along. That’s just in case things escalate and she’s born, say, tomorrow. If she goes full term, which she might, then the steroids won’t have helped or hindered.

So this is where I am now. In the hospital waiting for things to stop. I’ll know more tomorrow morning and keep this blog updated… As if I had anything else to do!!!

Leave a Reply

