The name saga continues!

I love this blog! I love that sometimes writing something down makes me see things in a whole new light. It was once I wrote that Eloise Scarlett was our (probably) final name that I could see it wasn’t quite right.

I mean, we still like it. And it’s perfect in so many regards. And everyone loves it! But I don’t know, something about the “L” sound is really starting to get to me. Maybe it’s because we know a Lola, Oliver, Kyle, Ellie, Aurelia, Amelia, Alain, Philippe, Jill, Molly, Maxwell, Marshall …. It’s the L invasion!! And of course we already have a Gabrielle and an Ella. Sure, Ella is only a stuffed bear, a temporary thing in the larger scheme of life, but I say her name so many times a day!

I want a new sound!

Anyway, it may just be last minute commitment issues. It’s very possible we’ll still end up picking Eloise. But since Eloise was the *only* name we could agree on, it felt like more of a defeat than a win. I want the name to be the best of many options that we both love, you know?!

So Chris and I have spent a lot of time talking names this week! Previously I was doing all the research and proposing to him only the ones I loved. Now we’re sitting down on the computer together instead. There’s so many names I like but either didn’t jump on or didn’t think he would like, so it’s nice to talk about those too.

So now we’re back to three names, and maybe more to come. Eloise, Noa, and Juno.

I didn’t even know Noa was a girl name until I saw it was very popular in many European countries and Australia, and #1 in Israel! But now that I know it’s an option, I am falling in love with it all over again! Noah was our top choice had Gabrielle been a boy. It’s soft, it’s beautiful, it’s short but still two syllables, and it doesn’t really have a nickname. I also really like Nora, but Chris doesn’t. He does, however, like Nova, but I think that’s a little weird for me… We’ll see. I have no idea what the middle name would be for Noa, I still haven’t found one that I love matched with Noa.

The next new name on the list is Juno. We had Juniper on our name board for a while, so it makes sense we like Juno. It’s much more pronounceable in French than Juniper, first of all. And like Noa, it’s also short and sweet so there’s no need for a nickname. I love the history behind it, Juno is the wife (and sister, ahem) of Jupiter and the mother of Mars and Vulcan. We’ve got the whole solar system! She is the “mother of the heavens” and the “Roman goddess of women and marriage.” The protector of women. For the middle name, I actually kind of like the sound of Juno Mars! It sounds cool, and you get both the mother and the warrior in there, ha!

Noa has a beautiful history as well! She was one of the five daughters of Zelophehad. From Wikipedia: “The Daughters of Zelophehad were five sisters in the Hebrew Bible who lived during the Exodus of the Israelites from Egypt, and who raised before Moses the case of a woman’s right and obligation to inherit property in the absence of a male heir in the family.” It seems like the Noa story is especially a propos since we will not have any boys in the family!

They’re both strong female names, which is awesome, but they sound sweet at the same time. It’s such a relief to know we have a few serious options we both really love now. Unlike last time, I think we will go to the hospital with a few options and choose the final one when we see her little face.

Leave a Reply

