Gabrielle’s Axioms

We were playing in the living room the other day, when I wanted to know what time it was but didn’t feel like getting off the couch. Gabby can recognize a few numbers with no great accuracy, but I decided to ask her to go read the time, just for fun to see how she’d react.

Me: “Gabby, can you go read what time it is?”
Gabby: “Oh sure!”
She runs off to the clock on the stove in the kitchen then runs back to me.
Gabby: “Mom, I can’t read.”

I thought it was so funny! I love that she took the challenge with such confidence and enthousiasm, and that “I can’t do that” was not her first instinct but a later realization. What I great attitude! Then of course I got up and we read the time together.

Leave a Reply

