Pregnancy is so demanding!

As of yesterday I am 18 weeks along, this week the baby is the size of a bell pepper! Also we are exactly one week from finding out the sex of the baby!

On Saturday morning we had a bit of a scare. We got up at 7am, went out for muffins as usual, came back home, and as I was getting Gabby dressed for the day I was feeling a little lightheaded. Lightheaded is pretty much my middle name during pregnancies so I didn’t think much it. I knew I needed to sit down, but we wanted to head to the store so I figured I could just sit in the car and that’d be good enough.

On the way to the store I started feeling really bad so I told Chris to turn around and head back home. Then I started feeling really really bad so I told him to turn around again and head to the ER! I started to sweat heavily, my vision and hearing were fading out… I.e. I was fainting!! By the time we arrived at the ER, my vision was starting to come back but we figured I might as well go in.

Turns out my blood pressure was really low and I was dehydrated. How that happened, I have no idea! I was drinking normally the evening before, and I’d only been up for 2 hours that morning when the fainting spell happened. It’s not like I was working out or doing anything stupid or extreme!

The doctor pumped me with 2 liters of IV fluids and I was sent on my way. I took it easy for the rest of the day. I felt so bad for Chris as I was supposed to watch Gabby on Saturday so he could go out and enjoy some time off for Father’s Day weekend! At least I was feeling back to normal on Sunday so he was able to do all those things he was supposed to do Saturday.

This morning my weekly pregnancy email (it’s something I signed up for, it tells me generic info like the size of the baby and what changes the baby and my body are going through each week) read: “Your cardiovascular system is undergoing dramatic changes, and during this trimester your blood pressure will probably be lower than usual.” So I guess it was more than just dehydration, it was the perfect storm!

Leave a Reply

