Gabrielle’s axioms

Gabby has been so cute now that my belly is getting bigger. I took her to the museum by myself last night for an event. While she was playing, she stopped and started petting my belly and kissing it and putting her head on it to hear the baby. It was kind of awkward to have such a private moment in public, but it was so sweet.

She’s been having some funny conversations with me about the baby too. Like last night in the car…
Gabby: “Baby Zero is getting big. It gets bigger and bigger and bigger. And then you will need to go to the hospital to get it out.”
Me: “That’s right.”
Gabby, totally panicked: “We’re going to the hospital RIGHT NOW?!”

I keep telling her the baby is “not coming for a long time,” but you know, a week is a long time for a preschooler! I tell her there’s 5 months left, but she doesn’t have a good idea of how long a month is. As I was putting her to bed last night she said “I have a baby brothersister at Christmas?” I don’t know who told her about the baby coming close to Christmas, but it was a pretty good idea! In reality the baby will be there a good bit before Christmas, but it seems to help her understand it’s in a long time. And anything is more exciting when you combine it with Christmas!

Anyway, the big news around here is that Gabby is moving up to the next level at preschool! She was in the “Rainbow Fish” classroom for the 2-3-year-olds, but because she is SO SMART (the teachers said it’s “because she turned 3” but I know the truth!) she is moving to the “Purple Sharks” classroom for the 3-4-year-olds.

She was in transition last week, spending the mornings with the Purple Sharks and the afternoon with the Rainbow Fish. It seems she’s fully transitioned now because they moved her cubby and stuff to the Purple Sharks classroom. The teachers said she is doing really great with the change, but I think she was kind of a mess last week. I’m not sure if it was the transition or too much birthday craziness over the long weekend but she was very “emotional”… And that’s putting it nicely! She seems to be doing better this week, so that’s good.

The great news is that we haven’t had a poop accident since she transitioned on her birthday. I don’t know why it suddenly registered with her, but she told me “I’m a big girl who poops on the potty” on the first day of transition and that was the end of the accidents. Amazing!!

Because she’s been so bipolar lately, we’ve been talking a lot about how her emotions and actions make us feel. I ask her “how do you feel when someone screams at you?” and then she says “sad” and she seems to get it that it’s also how she makes us feel when she screams at us. When she starts losing it, I’ve been reminding her to “control your emotions”. It seems to work sometimes.

Along the same line, Gabby The Shoe Hater does this thing where she always takes off her shoes and socks in the car. It drives me crazy cause sometimes we’ll be in the car for not even 5 minutes and then we have to put her shoes on all over again. Sometimes we’re already in a parking lot by the time she decides to takes them off. We ask her not to take them off because “we’re almost there!!!” But nope, the shoes come off. So in the car yesterday morning on the way to school, I was SO frustrated that she was taking off her shoes AGAIN. I told her the same stuff as usual “Don’t take off your shoes, we’re almost there. It makes me really upset when you take off your shoes because I spent time helping you put them on at home and now I have to do it all over again. You are giving me more work to do. It is wasting my time and that’s not very considerate.”

Then remembering our success with feelings lately, I thought of adding a new bit to my usual rant. I asked her “how would you feel if you picked up all your toys and I went in and undid all your work and you had to do it all over again?” She said it would make her mad. And then a miraculous thing happened, she kept her shoes on!

Ever since then, she’s been repeating at odd times “this is my work. Don’t undo my work because it would make me mad. It’s not nice to undo someone’s work.” Last night she was talking about her pile of stuffed animals on her bed as “her work”. This morning when I was in her room I accidentally knocked over one of the stuffed animals and it fell off the bed.
Gabby: “MY WORK!!!” (in the most exasperated tone, like I just ruined her Mona Lisa or something.)
Me: “Sorry, it was an accident. I’ll pick it up and fix it because it was my mistake.”
Gabby: “Thank you, mommy. It’s ok, mommy. I’m not mad.”

It’s so funny to hear her refer to everything as “her work” now. It’s nice to see her finally get something I’ve been trying to explain for months!

Leave a Reply

