Someone send me cheesecake

Like I said on Friday, I caught Gabby’s stomach bug. On the plus side, I got no fever or flu symptoms like she did. Still though, pregnant + no food for two days = useless to the world.

On Sunday, I felt more hungry so I ventured out of my saltines and Gatorade diet. By Sunday night, I felt well enough to pick up Gabby at my parents’ house (who generously offered to babysit for the weekend, thanks again!!!).

This morning I woke up at 2am, my stomach was ready to party again. And I don’t mean that in a good way. I guess I overdid it with the food on Sunday. Sigh. Another day at home! I’m well enough to work from home at least, but it’s back to the plain toast and saltines for me for another day or two.

Meanwhile, we’re leaving for Hawaii in one exactly week. Now that I’ve been forced to rest in bed for 4 days, I feel more emotionally ready for the trip. Interestingly, I had nightmares last night about not having the suitcases ready and just shoving a bunch of clothes in there willy-nilly trying to get out the door on time. It’s funny because I’m so not the type to stress over travel bags, we usually pack ours at the last minute anyway. Maybe my suitcase nightmare is a metaphor for food, what I’m really worried about is packing on some weight before the trip so I don’t faint in an airport! Someone send me some cheesecake or something!

One of my GeekMom editors is actually house-sitting for us while we’re in Hawaii. She’s from Arizona and was looking for a vacation house in California for a week in May. We were leaving anyway so it worked out perfectly! She’s coming in a day before we leave so we get to hang out with her a little bit too. It’ll be fun since I’ve worked with her online for a year and a half now, and I’ve only met her once at Maker Faire in the Bay area last year.

Now wish me luck with the whole eating and going to work thing, I’ll need it to make it through this week!

Leave a Reply

