Gabrielle’s Axioms

Me, driving Gabrielle home from daycare: “Hi Gabby, how are you doing?”

Gabby: “I’m eleven.”

Me: “No…”

Gabby: “I’m four!”

Me: “No…”

Gabby: “I’m two!”

Me: “Yes! You’re two, that’s how OLD you are. But I asked HOW are you DOING? You’re supposed to say ‘I’m well.'”

Gabby: “I’m well. One – two – three – four – five – six – eleven…”

Me: “No, seven comes after six!”

Gabby: “Seven – eleven…”

Me: “No! Eight comes after seven!”

Gabby: “Eight – nine – eleven…”

Me: “TEN!”

Gabby: “Ten – eleven – fourteen – eleventeen – fourteen – eleventeen – fourteen – eleventeen – fourteen – …”

Me: “Gabby, you’re in an infinite loop!”

Gabby: “I like fourteen.”

Me: “Oooook. That’s not weird.”

Gabby: “I like eleventeen.”

Me: “No kidding.”

Gabby: “I like orange.”

Gah, that kid is so weird!!! Also for the record, she CAN count correctly to 15 by herself without help, but not always… Obviously!

Leave a Reply

