Conversations in the car

I’m having way too much fun talking with Gabrielle. I find she is most interactive on the ride home from daycare at the end of the day. I think she’s happy to see me, in the right mood, and stuck in a chair with not much else to do than talk to me. So I ask her questions the whole way home. First I ask her what she did today:


“What did you do today?”
(Babbling I don’t understand.)
“Did you play with the other kids?”
Nooooo” (She answer no to most everything.)
“No?! Are you sure?”
Nooooo
“Did you paint today?” (Kim told me they painted today.)
Nooooo
“No?! You little liar! Are you lying?”
ROAR!” (this kills me everytime, she thinks I’m saying LION. Adorable!)
“Did you play with a ball?”
Noooo
“Did you sing your ABC’s?”
uh-huh” (she doesn’t ever say yes. Instead she mumbles a quiet “uh-huh” while shaking her head up and down and giving me puppy eyes, like saying yes is something you should be ashamed of)
“Did you have fun?”
Noooo
“Do you love papa?”
uh-huh
“Do you love mama?”
Noooo


Sigh. Time to move on to animal sounds. We practice all our animals, she knows the sounds for a bunch of animals, whether I ask in French or English. Next up, counting:


“Let’s count to 10! One…”
Three!
“Two…”
Three!
“Three, that’s right! Four…”
Three!
“Five…”
Three!
“Six…”
Three!
“Seven…”
EIGHT!
“Eight, yes! Good job! Nine… Can you say nine?”
TEN!
“Good enough!”


Next up, colors. From the very beginning, Chris has been pushing colors like crazy. Blue shirt, green plant, white shoes. He hasn’t said a noun in 18 months without preceding it with its color. And yet, it is her biggest weak point, to the point where we’re thinking maybe she’s colorblind! She answers blue to EVERYTHING.


“What color are your shoes?”
Blue!
“No, your shoes are white. What color are your shoes?”
Blue!
“No, your shoes are white. You have white shoes. What color are your pants?”
Blue!
“No, your pants are purple. Can you say purple?”
Purple
“Very good! What color are your pants?”
Blue!
“No, your pants are purple!”
Blue!
“What color is Raven?” (I’ve been asking her questions about things she can’t see so she practices visualizing it in her head.)
Meow
“Yes, Raven says meow. What color is Raven?”
Blue!
Sigh. “No, Raven is black. Raven is a black cat. What color is Raven?”
Blaaa
“Black! Yes! Good job! Let’s turn on music.” (I, for one, know to quit while I’m ahead.)
Leave a Reply

