Ready

Our bags are packed, our petsitter/housesitter is all lined up, our neighbors have been informed. Yep, we are ready (as can be) to go through one hell of a traveling day with a toddler in order to leave this:


For this:


That’s a lot of rain! How will we entertain Gabrielle indoors so many days in a row?! Our training and experience as Californian parents has not prepared us for this!

Anyway, I haven’t been back to Montreal in 4 and half years so I’m excited to see all of my extended family members and eat all the delicious food I miss. However, Chris and I are already in withdrawal at the thought of going 10 days without Mexican food! I bet Gabrielle would be too if she knew what was going on, that girl loves herself some enchiladas and black beans!

It’s funny, every time I tell people I’m traveling to Montreal and that’s where I’m from, they say “oh, you’re going home!” Hum, no, my home is here! It is strange to me that people would call their childhood town “home” or “hometown” after living elsewhere for so long. Don’t get me wrong, Montreal will always have a special place in my heart and I love and miss my extended family, but shouldn’t home be where you live?

Leave a Reply

