Weekend, finally, and ants, unfortunately.

It’s been a long week but the weekend is finally here!

The one good thing I forgot to mention lately is that Gabrielle actually slept pretty well the last 3 nights (even if she was still on antibiotics so I don’t know what was wrong with her before). She’s been sleeping 7:30pm to about 6:30am, waking up once to feed around 2am and once just to mess with us around 5. Tell you what, I go to bed around 9 and that 9-2 is AMAZING. Before this bedtime switch, Gabrielle had been waking up to feed at 10 and 2 for a really long time (and also 4, just to mess with us) so this once-a-night feeding is awesome and I can’t remember the last time I slept a 5 hour stretch. Amazing! If she keeps this up I will have to start putting an alarm for myself in the morning, I’ve been waking up with her around 6:30-6:40 these last few days and it’s a mad dash trying to get ready on time for work! Oh but who cares, I’m sleeping in past 6am for the first time since she was born!

Funny story. My mom got us St Patrick’s day donuts on Thursday, Chris and I both ate half of a donut before dinner (tsk, tsk, I know) and wrapped out our respective other halves with a paper towel and put it in the pantry. After dinner, I took both halves out of the pantry and ate mine. Chris woke up 3am to work, as usual (crazy), and got himself breakfast in the dark as to not wake up Gabrielle. He got a bowl of cereal and grabbed his wrapped half-donut from the counter and sat on the couch to eat. Then he felt movement on his arm…. The whole donut (and by then his arm and the couch) was covered with ants!!! He hadn’t noticed in the dark. Thankfully he felt the ants before attempting to eat the donut, but I’m still impressed he kept his composure and somehow cleaned up the whole mess in the dark. I would have probably panicked, opened all the lights, taken a shower and woken up Gabrielle in the process. Then he tells me later on “all I got was this stupid donut covered in ants”, it still makes me giggle! Sorry honey!

Leave a Reply

