Veggies galore!

I picked up my first weekly CSA (community-supported agriculture) share. I really had no idea what to expect in items, quantity or quality. What I picked up was 2 paper bags full of: lettuce, kale, collards greens, beets, carrots, celery, garlic, arugula, and one butternut squash.

Last night our fridge was packed with leftovers and veggies. So we heated up some leftover burgers and I served collard greens and beets as a side! Wow, we are like crazy healthy! I honestly never tasted either before but I generally knew what to do with it thanks to an extensive number of hours spent watching the food network back when I had TV. So I sauteed the collard greens and the beets together in olive oil, garlic, and my default spices that I put on everything (pepper, cayenne pepper, thyme, and oregano). After a few minutes of sauteeing, I added a bit of water and covered, letting the veggies boil/steam until the water was all absorbed and evaporated. This is the same way I cook all out veggies anyway. It smelled good thanks to the garlic and spices, but I still expected to taste horrible. And you know what? It wasn’t that bad!!

Leave a Reply

