The judging eyes

Let’s see, what is new?

Gabrielle has finally figured out that she can go places by connecting multiple rolls in a row. For someone who started rolling early, it sort of took her a long time to figure that out! But ever since that very first roll she’s been all about the screaming-in-frustration-until-I-figure-out-how-to-crawl-and-go-forward, so honestly I’m sort of surprised she learned the connect-a-roll at all. I though she would just go right to crawling, do not pass go, do not collect $200.

But she did figure it out and now we have to *gasp* actually watch her after we set her down on the floor. Next they’ll expect me to feed her too?!

Every year I tell myself “this year will be the year that I get all my Christmas shopping done before Thanksgiving.” It’s been a goal of mine for a long time, but it never works out. I like shopping except I hate hate hate it in December. The crowds, the parking lots, the lines. Everyone there knows you’re shopping for a Christmas gift because you’re a girl shopping in the men’s section 10 days before Christmas, and they are watching you, judging you. “Oh really, you’re going to buy him THAT?” says the quiet judging eyes. You don’t see them staring, but you know they are there. The judging eyes, always looking. They know you’re desperate cause you’ve done all the stores and this is the last one and you HAVE to pick something otherwise you’re gonna have to subject yourself to another day of crowd surfing. THEY. KNOW.

See, I’m getting hives just thinking about it. Don’t get me wrong, I love giving gifts, I just wish I would shop for them, well, before Thanksgiving. And we’ve gone full circle.

What do you think, is this year going to be the year?!

2 thoughts on “The judging eyes

  1. An alternative is 1 hour before stores close on Christmas’s Eve. It is remarkably quiet. Plus you have the benefit of empty shelves, less trouble to choose from. Always worked for me.

Leave a Reply

