Pumpkin bread

Every week, someone in my team brings baked goods (homemade or store-bought) on Friday morning to share. This week was my week and I decided to make pumpkin bread. I love this recipe and I’ve been craving it since September but I could not find pumpkin purée. While I realize making homemade pumpkin purée is possible, let’s face it, I’m way too lazy busy. Alas pumpkin purée suddenly reappeared on the grocery store shelves the day October hit and my pumpkin bread was a huge hit! I made 2 loaves for work and they disappeared, so I am making another loaf this morning for Chris!

Want the recipe?

1 1/2 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon of salt
1 cup sugar
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup pumpkin purée
1/2 cup olive oil
2 eggs, beaten
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon allspice
1/2 cup chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 350°F. Sift together the flour, salt, sugar,
and baking soda. Mix the pumpkin, oil, eggs, 1/4 cup of water, and
spices together, then combine with the dry ingredients, but do not mix
too thoroughly. Stir in the nuts. Pour into a well-buttered 9x5x3 inch
loaf pan. Bake 50-60 minutes until a straw poked in the very center of
the loaf comes out clean. Turn out of the pan and let cool on a rack.

I wish I remembered where I got this recipe from so I can give proper credit where due, but I don’t remember. Whoever created it was a genius, for sure. Of course I omit the walnuts because nuts are the devil, but if you are committed to ruining baked goods with nuts like most people then by all means add nuts. Note that in my experience this recipe always requires the full 60 minutes, nowhere near to 50.

Go forth and bake, my friends!

Leave a Reply

