10 weeks

Two and a half months. Seriously, if we had anymore milestones this week, I think I’d have a heart attack. She’s proven capable of grabbing a toy and turning from stomach to back, though neither are performed skillfully or frequently yet. At this rate by the time she’s 6 months old, she’ll be calling us on her cell to say she’s at the mall with her friends and won’t be home until 9.

Tonight is my yoga class. I am excited, but not as much as I was about it last week. Last week I was with the baby 24/7 and having a break to focus on my body sounded amazing. Now that I’m away all day, I just want to come home after work and hug her all evening! But yoga will feel good I know it, so I will suck it up and go. I think it will be good to leave father and daughter a little alone time.

Work so far is going well. My job is busy and often times stressful, but it does feel like I’m getting a 9 hour break! I do miss Gabrielle immensely, but I think this work/home balance is a lot better for me than just being home all the time. I find myself much more patient with and focused on Gabrielle when I’m with her knowing that our time together is limited. Wow, that sounds horrible, but you know what I mean.

However, despite being happily back to work, I do wish I could work a little less. It would be nicer if I was only working 8am to 2pm for example. But if we want to afford our cushy life in Santa Barbara (and potentially buy a home someday), we need my full salary. One day, when we have to teach her from a book what mosquitoes and snow are, she’ll thank us!

One thought on “10 weeks

Leave a Reply

