LA Saturday

Wow, I have SO MUCH to post about! Yesterday was a busy day! We decided to finally take the trip down to Santa Monica to visit the Tesla store, and while we were down there we also visited the La Brea tar pits and its museum, and the 3rd Street Promenade which Chris had never seen. I’ve got LOTS of pictures to show you all the highlights of our day trip.

First, the museum:

Chris and the ground sloth

Chris and the ground sloth

Ariane and the mammoth

Ariane and the mammoth

400 of the 1600 Dire Wolf skulls found in the pits (thus far)

400 of the 1600 Dire Wolf skulls found in the pits (thus far)

The fishbowl lab, where they clean the bones as tourists watch them... And I found working in a cube was bad!

The "fishbowl" lab, where they clean the bones as tourists watch them work... And I found working in a cube was bad!

The pit they are currently working on

The pit they are currently excavating (there's real bones sticking out in places!)

Me jumping off the building! (there was a grass hill behind me that you dont see!)

Me jumping off the building! (there was a grass hill behind me that you don't see!)

We walked around town for lunch, took this cool shot:

About town

About town

After the museum we drove to Tesla. A should-be 10 minute drive that took us 1 hour. Gotta love LA traffic!

The storefront

The storefront

A very surprised Chris (Hey! This car is comfortable!)

A very surprised Chris (Hey! This car is comfortable!)

A very happy Ariane!

A very happy Ariane!

I count 500k here.

I count 500k here.

And an additional 400k here!

And an additional 400k here!

We looked completely ridiculous. I was squealing and clapping in delight like a tween at a Justin Timberlake concert. I’m not even kidding. We were probably the highlight of their day (“look at these 2 squealing idiots!”). There were 2 customers in the store actually picking up their new car. We fawned over them too. Chris was holding back some serious “what do you do for a living and how can I be more like you?!”. Well we purchased something there too… 2 Tesla MUGS. Small consolation prize, but I will bring it proudly to work! And use it every day.

Mug (right side)

Mug (right side)

Mug (left side)

Mug (left side)... And Raven behind it!

As we were leaving the building and walking to the small back street where I parked my car, we saw the Roadster in action! Some guy was driving around the corner. I turned to Chris and pointed at the car “look, there someone driving one!”, and the driver saw us, waved, and then floored it. We heard a quiet “ziiiiip” and it was gone. And then we squealed again…..

After THAT over-joyous experience, we went to Santa Monica to walk around. It was hot! Apparently we are spoiled brats about the weather now, we were all like “oh my god, it is so hot, what is it, like 110 degrees outside?!”. Got into the car and it said it was 87 outside. Wow. We are all kinds of lame.

As for today, I wanted to do a little project. I’ve been thinking about options to bring some life into my cubicle. I thought about a betta fish (but we all remember my luck with fish… they commit suicide around me for pete’s sake), maybe an ant farm (ugh, gross, I hate ants!), a plant (but again, they also commit suicide around me, plus they are a little boring)…. Finally I found a viable option: a moss terrarium!

Cute examples I found online:

Cute moss terrariums

Cute moss terrariums

So the instructions are….

1) Find a glass jar with a lid

2) Put a layer of rocks at the bottom

3) Put a layer of fake moss (so the dirt doesn’t fall in the rocks)

4) Put a layer of plant charcoal (it helps keep the water from getting stale/stinky)

5) Put a layer of potting mix

6) Find some moss in your backyard or nearest park/forest

7) Put the moss in

8 ) Add cute glass or plastic decorations. Woodland creatures seem popular and theme appropriate.

9) Cover with a lid. There should be a little condensation on the walls of the jar. When there isn’t, add a little water (about once a month). Done! It will grow (should) for years.

So this morning I assembled my items: an empty pickle jar (maybe not the most visually appealing option, but yay for recycling! And it’s free!), we already had potting soil and rocks I can find on the street. This morning I went to OSH to get fake moss, cute little polished rocks, and charcoal (total: $15, but there’s enough of each item to make LOTS of terrarium jars cause the smallest bag of each was pretty big!). Now… hum… moss….. In my backyard…. In nearby shaded humid forest…. Hummm…. This is going to be a problem in sunny dry SoCal. Anyone got ideas?! I looked at OSH and Home Depot, hoping I could find some for sale. But of course no such luck. What I need is a shipment from Ohio! I’m sure you NorthEast/MidWest folks have plenty! It’s probably illegal to ship plants huh? Oh well. Comes the worse, we’re going to San Francisco for our wedding anniversary in 2 weeks, it’s certain we’ll find some there!

Ok, I’ll take pics the terrarium assembling when I find moss. In the mean time, make sure to check out the whole LA Day Trip photo album (there’s a bunch more pics I didn’t post here). I also uploaded about 15 new Mission pictures. And if you didn’t see Chris’s first post on this blog yesterday, be sure to check that out!

2 thoughts on “LA Saturday

  1. I changed the look of the blog! The previous theme did not show the author of the post, this one does! This will make it easier for you to know who wrote the entry, now that Chris is also writing 🙂

  2. Hey, on my morning walk I found moss! Now I just need to return to that multi-million dollar property with a bag and a spoon, start digging, and hope no one calls the police! Hey, moss hunting IS fun!

Leave a Reply

