The Promised Pictures

Good morning!

As it turns out, a 3 hour nap on saturday afternoon and a cup of caffeinated tea before bed is NOT conducive to sleep. Who would have thought! I did not sleep at all. But I was very comfortable during my tossing and turning!

I found the BEST blog ever. It is called Cake Wrecks, it is hilarious. I was reading it until my smile muscles got sore and my eyes were dry from laughing so hard I cried. It is this lady posting pictures of the best and worst of professional cakes. The best are impressive, and the worst are very very funny.

Anyway, back to business… Here’s all the pictures I’ve been promising!

First of all, I took lots of pictures of the finished chalk drawings and I don’t feel like posting them all here, so be sure to click on the picture to visit the whole album!

Pretty chalk drawing

Pretty chalk drawing

Second, pictures of the painted living room!

The dining room-ish area

The "dining room"-ish area

The very far away living room area

The very far away living room area

The TV area

The TV area

Ok, now time to put your design skills to work. We have two walls that feel “empty” to me.

Empty wall

Empty wall 1

Empty wall 2

Empty wall 2

What should I put? We have framed art all over the other wall (where the table and couch is) so more framed art may make our apartment look like an art gallery. On the other hand, more framed art means I can do a new art project and put it on the wall.. ring the project alarm!

So this brings us to my current art project. I’m not sure if I told you about it… I found 2 images online that I really like, so I’m trying to recreate them! (I take absolutely no credit for these images, I just found them online and whoever the original artists was, he/she is clearly awesome)

Image 1

Image 1

Image 2

Image 2

So here’s my “grided” printout so I can draw it to scale:

Printout

Printout

And here’s my drawing so far!

Pencil drawing

Pencil drawing

Doesn’t look like much, does it?! Right now I’m just drawing the skeleton of it in light pencil. (By the way, sorry for the bad visibility, I tried every image modifying tool in picasa to make the drawing show up more and this is the best I could do. It’s very light pencil, what can you do?! šŸ˜› ) I think from here I will start to draw more details in the same light pencil, then I’ll color the whole thing with coloring pencils! Wish me luck.

Lastly, I went to Trader Joe’s and found these gorgeous peonies:

Peonies

Peonies

Which I just had to have even though I know it means I’ll have the beat off the cats with a stick cause they think plants are food (and that throwing up is cool with Ze Humans)

Please mommy, can I eat them?!

Pleeeeeeeease, can I eat them?!

Oh, and anyone has an idea of what happened to Chris’s jeans?!

Holes!

Tons of holes!

One thought on “The Promised Pictures

Leave a Reply

